KTXY-FM in Columbia Wins Service to Community Award

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The National Association of Broadcasters Education Foundation (NABEF) announced the winners of the 2018 Celebration of Service to America Awards, recognizing outstanding community service by local broadcasters. Winners will be honored at the Celebration of Service to America dinner, held Tuesday, June 12 at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium in Washington, D.C.

Service to Community Award for Radio – Small Market: 
KTXY-FM Columbia, Mo., “Y107 Miracles for Kids Radiothon”
 Zimmer Radio of Mid-Missouri, Inc.

KTXY’s 2017 Children’s Miracle Network (CMN) Radiothon marked the 11th year Zimmer Radio and Marketing Group has partnered with CMN and the Missouri University’s Children’s Hospital. In that time, the station has raised more than 2.3 million dollars to help benefit sick children in mid-Missouri. The 2017 Miracles for Kids Radiothon raised over $250,000, and the initiative has won numerous Corporate Awards from the Missouri Broadcasters Association and is considered one of the top local radiothons by Children’s Miracle Network.

Category Finalists:
 KCLR-FM Boonville, Mo., “Clear 99 Honor Flight Radiothon,” Zimmer Radio of Mid-Missouri
 WFRE-FM, WFMD-AM Frederick, Md., “WFRE St. Jude Radiothon,” Aloha Station

“Local broadcasters play a crucial role in informing, supporting and strengthening communities across our country,” said NABEF President Marcellus Alexander. “This year’s winners represent the ethos of broadcasting and the industry’s unwavering commitment to public service. We look forward to honoring these outstanding stations in the nation’s capital.”




Array ( [marginTop] => 100 [pageid] => 799387306994049025 [alignment] => left [width] => 292 [height] => 300 [color_scheme] => light [header] => header [footer] => footer [border] => true [scrollbar] => scrollbar [linkcolor] => #2EA2CC )